Depending on how much you want to make you can add and subtract to this recipe.  Since my husband and I both work full time we like to make a large amount and freeze it.  We  also can tomatoes which are so helpful all year round.  I never add any water to this recipe you won’t need to if you use canned tomatoes.  If you don’t have those handy just grab the equal amount of whole peeled tomatoes from your grocery store and I would add 1 to 1/2 cans of water depending on how thick or thin you like the sauce.

3-4 large jars of canned tomatoes

1 large green pepper

1 large red pepper

1 large orange or yellow pepper

2 large onions- I used sweet last time and it turned out great

2-3 teaspoons of chopped garlic

salt to taste

pepper to taste

and I either use Italian seasonings or you can break that up into the spices you prefer, we also have a large vegetable garden and we have a ton of fresh herbs in there, we also freeze those and add them to all of my sauces.  They freeze great !

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

olive oil

– I sautee the garlic and onion together with a little bit of olive oil just to soften them up and bring out the flavor , then add all of the rest of the ingredients and let it come to a low boil and then simmer for 3-4 hours.

 

We have also introduced whole grain spaghetti to our family and the kids have never once complained

 

